THE MEDIA AND DEMOCRACY KAROL LAKUBOWICZ AWARD IN 2020 - WINNER ANNOUNCED

The Polish Communication Association and "Central European Journal of Communication" have been active in this year's edition of the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award. The Award ceremony took place on July 15, 2020 at the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights and was attended by members of the Executive Committee, as well as scholars nominated for the Award and special guests.





Photos: Prof. Agnieszka Walecka-Rynduch, winner of the third edition of the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award and participants of the Award ceremony (Warsaw, June 15, 2020).

The Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award in 2020 was granted to prof. Agnieszka Walecka-Rynduch, the author of "MediaEgo w MediaPolis. W stronę nowego paradygmatu komunikowania politycznego" [MediaEgo in MediaPolis. Towards a New Paradigm in Political Communication] (Kraków: Wydawnictwo Naukowe Uniwersytetu Pedagogicznego w Krakowie, 2019) – for a brave attempt to establish a new paradigm in political communication.

Thanks to this year's changes in the Terms of Proceedings of the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award, which consisted of an increase in the number of people nominating publications, as well as the expansion of the range of nominated publications, The "Central European Journal of Communication" and its Associate Editors will now play an active role in nominating publications for the next year's edition of the Award. Furthermore, both the Polish Communication Association and "Central European Journal of Communication" anticipate that the Media and Democracy Karol Jakubowicz Award will become international from 2021 onwards, and hope to establish an official cooperation with the iaPMR (International Association of Public Media Researchers), a formalized structure of the RIPE (Re-Visionary Interpretations of the Public Enterprise) initiative.

The Award was established in 2018 by Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz. Its goal is to support young scholars who conduct research on democracy, human rights, policy making, media ethics and public service media. The Executive Committee for the Award includes prof. Iwona Hofman (President of the Polish Communication Association, Maria Curie-Skłodowska University in Lublin), Małgorzata Semil-Jakubowicz (Founder of the Award), dr. Hanna Machińska (Deputy Commissioner for Human Rights, Poland), prof. Alicja Jaskiernia (University of Warsaw), prof. Beata Klimkiewicz (Jagiellonian University), prof. Michał Głowacki (Editor-in-chief of "Central European Journal of Communication"), prof. Elżbieta Matynia (The New School for Social Research) and Halina Rostek (The National Broadcasting Council, Poland).

Dr. Karol Jakubowicz (1941–2013) was one of the leading advocates of media freedom in Europe and one of the most recognized Polish scholars in communications and media. He was the Chairman of the Intergovernmental Council of UNESCO's *Information for All* Programme and the Chairman of the Steering Committee on the Media and New Communication Services at the Council of Europe. For many decades Karol Jakubowicz served as an expert on media regulation in Poland and other countries in Central and Eastern Europe. He collaborated with the European Union, the European Broadcasting Union, and the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe.

Dagmara Sidyk UNIVERSITY OF WARSAW, POLAND

Photos by: Dagmara Derda, the Office of the Commissioner for Human Rights